News & Ideas

ACE scholarship program announces 2019 winners

Pictured (L to R): Megan Wheeland, Courtney Geraets, Jennifer Johnson

Sioux Falls, SD (September 9, 2019) – As the new school year gets underway, the American Coalition for Ethanol (ACE) congratulates the 2019 scholarship recipients Courtney Geraets, Jennifer Johnson and Megan Wheeland. Each student receives a $1,000 scholarship through ACE’s Scholarship Program to help further their collegiate education.

“ACE wishes these bright, young students of ACE member plant employees the best of luck as they pursue their future careers,” said Brian Jennings, ACE CEO. “Students today are the leaders of tomorrow and their education is critically important for the future development of biofuels, its associated industries, and beyond.”

Courtney Geraets is from Dell Rapids, South Dakota, and is pursuing a degree in Counseling at Ave Maria University in Ave Maria, Florida. Courtney is the daughter of Paul and Amy Geraets. Her father Paul is affiliated with ACE ethanol producer member Dakota Ethanol in Wentworth, South Dakota. 

Jennifer Johnson is from Las Cruces, New Mexico, and will be attending the South Dakota School of Mines and Technology in Rapid City, South Dakota, where she plans to study Metallurgical Engineering. Jennifer is the daughter of Everett and Julie Johnson. Her father is affiliated with ACE ethanol producer member Little Sioux Corn Processors in Marcus, Iowa.

Megan Wheeland is from Nelson, Nebraska, and will be pursuing a degree in pre-nursing/nursing at the University of Nebraska – Kearney in Kearney, Nebraska. Megan is the daughter of Kevin and the late Renae Wheeland. Her father is affiliated with ACE ethanol producer member Chief Ethanol Fuels in Hastings, Nebraska.

The ACE Scholarship Program was initiated in 2004, and ACE has since awarded $56,000. Scholarships are made available to employees and dependents of employees and shareholders of ACE Ethanol Producer, Voting and Associate member companies and organizations. The 2019 Scholarship Program was made possible by the generous donations of the following individuals and ethanol producer members: Ron Alverson, Absolute Energy, Adkins Energy, Badger State Ethanol, Cardinal Ethanol, Dakota Ethanol, Golden Grain Energy, Highwater Ethanol, Husker Ag, Mid-Missouri Energy, Redfield Energy, and Siouxland Ethanol. Those interested in contributing can contact the ACE office.

ACE provides ethanol educational resources on its website for anyone looking to learn more about ethanol. These resources include lesson plans, videos, career exploration, and other hands on learning activities compiled by ACE.

Become a Member of the Family.